What patterns or themes are evident in the research I read? How do these themes inform my project and/or the projects of others in this PLN?

The constant pattern I found was that The Six Minute Solution was beneficial for struggling students needing improved fluency. The one benefit of the program was that it improved comprehension as well, but is not a leading part of the program. Stated in The Effects of Repeated readings and Attentional Cues on Reading Fluency and Comprehension, the authors state “the effects on comprehension should not be considered as only a secondary purpose for using this methodology” (O’Shea et al., 1985). The National Research Center on Learning Disabilities also states that children in the tier 2 & 3 groupings show improved scores on the AIMSweb R-CBM test.

These common themes are important for my project because the goal is to increase R-CBM and MAZE scores on the AIMSweb. Fluency is important for both of these tests, however Comprehension is needed to answer the questions on the MAZE. Because this test is like a cloze reading, the students must be able to fluently read fast and choose the correct word (in a choice of three) to make the sentence correct. If the student doesn’t understand what they read, a wrong choice makes no difference. In Closing the Reading Fluency gap in Six Minutes, Hanzel states “Reading fluency is an issue beginning in first grade and continuing…for readers who seem to lack fluency struggle through all reading” (Hanzel, 2013).

I feel that all the articles I found, read and reviewed, seemed to move toward the same conclusion. I know that from the practice we have done in the classroom, the students love the program, and look forward to it. I have sampled some of the material and have seen improvement based on student graphs and list created.

7 comments

  1. kerri · February 7, 2015

    I am stoked to read that!! Yes, I am pondering if I should just use the students I tutor rather than my high Kinders. They do have Aims prompts for Kinder though. The Kinders I am thinking of using are older …all 6 years old. I am feeling for your third grade peeps reading at a kinder level. Where are you at? Keep up the good work..and good to know we are focusing on the same thing great way to network.

    Like

    • jnyboy1131 · February 9, 2015

      I am in Whiteriver, AZ on the Apache Reservation. It is the saddest place I have ever worked.

      Like

  2. starrhenry · February 8, 2015

    I’m excited to see what you find out. You’ve inspired me to try and get ahold of some 6-Minute Solution materials myself. I was under the impression (not sure why) that it was only for upper grades. The upper grade teachers at my school that use it all love it. But I didn’t know there were materials for primary students. It seems like it has a lot of research to back its effectiveness on comprehension. We no longer have to do any district or state mandated comprehension tests for reading in the primary grades. We only do fluency type tests. It’s such a bummer! I still DRA my students though and would love to see more primary teachers placing a bigger focus on comprehension.

    Like

    • jnyboy1131 · February 9, 2015

      It is designed to be used right away in 1st grade with sight words. Then the material moves up to short rich passages of about 120 – 150 words. Because of the limited amount of time I have I am going straight to the reading passages. I have 9 students pulled for reading daily and they work on sight words. I hope this will help, if so, we know what to do at the beginning of the year next year!

      Like

  3. Stephanie · February 8, 2015

    I had no idea that the Six Minute Solution Program gradually builds from read single words to reading timed passages to reading a full passage. I like it even more! I am interested in the results of your research because I think the Six Minute Solution is something I want to implement in my own classroom someday. Or maybe even with my own ELL students that I tutor.

    Like

  4. cjp1977 · February 8, 2015

    Although I don’t know anything about The Six Minute Solution, your observation that the students “love it” is worth noting. If they “love it,” it’s fun to them. If it’s fun to them, they’ll be more motivated to try. Motivation is measured in the amount of time spend with a task. Therefore, if they “love it,” they’ll bring more energy to the task and spend more time trying their best. This is a recipe for success whatever the program. Is there a collaboration component to this program? The benefits of social learning are well-documented. Children working together often unknowingly participate in peer modeling and peer teaching, thus demonstrating new ways of thinking, doing, or problem solving.

    Like

    • jnyboy1131 · February 9, 2015

      There is a lot of collaboration in my grade level. All the third grade classes use it daily, sometimes two and three times depending on the student. The fact that the kids like it, is a plus. I have seen improvement, while not mind blowing, I have kids say a word they couldn’t say before because they read it for a week, and they beam with happiness. That alone is a reward for me, the children that have finally realized I am not leaving at the end of the year, that I care, and that I want them to win. All of our students are used to a set of teachers every year. There has been no consistency for several years. I am one of three new teachers in a four room 3rd grade. We all decided that we were in four the long haul, and we are going to try to make a difference.

      Like

Leave a Reply

