What methods that I learned about in the research literature can I use to collect data? What new methods will I need to design?

The methods used in the research vary between two programs. The first program is just repeated readings. Repeated readings are great for students with disabilities, there is no set foundation, it is just reading to gain fluency. The actual “Six Minute Solution” is reading for one minute to improve fluency, and at the end of the week testing comprehension is the goal. I will follow the plan of The Six Minute Solution, where repeated reading and then discussions followed by Comprehension is the goal for improvement. All the data I have found says that support during reading (letting the reader know what the errors are) helps improve the future readings, and the comprehension.

I do not need to reinvent the wheel. I will use the materials provided by the program, and the graphing sheets as well. I will however create a questioner for use after the data collection to see how the students feel about the program and how they feel they did with it. My research will follow Amy Hanzal’s in using the Six Minute Solution to improve AIMSweb Scores on R-CBM and MAZE.

Another good research paper is Drop Everything and Read, where the author Jan Hasbrouck says that the old adage of read to self is not the best use of reading time for kids that are not yet fluent. For kids to be successful they need to receive feedback after a set amount of time. This again falls in line with the program I want to use. Al of the research I have found so far, all falls in line with letting the reader getting feedback after a read to help improve their fluency going forward.

Hanzal, A. (2013). Closing the Reading Fluency Gap in Six Minutes.

Hasbrouck, J. (2006). Drop everything and read—but how. American Educator, 30, 22-31.

Reflection to WK 5

I am happy with my choices so far. Kerri is following the same type of study but with younger students. Her choices look a lot like mine, no pre-survey, but a post to question the way the kids feel about it. We both also want to use god quality CBM material. I am going to stick with my original plan, use the Six-Minute Solution, the material that comes with it, except the probes, which I will use Read Naturally because of the comprehension questions on the back. I am satisfied with where I am at so far, and feel, based on what I have read from my peers, we are all in the same boat.

5 comments

  1. rockislandtechie · February 14, 2015

    I’m fairly clueless about the Six-Minute Solution, is it only one minute each day that leads up to the end of the week or did I read that part wrong? Do they read in groups and partners? It sounds like you have a good grasp of your methods and they will be easily integrated into your classroom, looking forward to hearing more about it.

    Like

    • jnyboy1131 · February 18, 2015

      The program is designed for once a day. I do partners, each on the same level. I look at the errors of each and if they can’t figure it out, I help them through it. Our process took about 12 minutes for the first couple days. We are at 8 minutes now. It is a really good program, and you can design it yourself with the principles that are already in place. You don’t need to buy anything, you can find everything on the internet for free. We have found that the best use of the program is to have the students work in pairs. If you come up with an odd student, I scribe while they reed and then explain the errors if there are any.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. kmlovett · February 15, 2015

    It sounds like you are lucky having many resources provided for data collection already. I like that you will also be asking students for input via a student survey. It will be interesting to see if you data collection tools and student surveys indicate the same results. (It seems like students are often tougher on themselves when taking reflective surveys.)

    Like

  3. Stephanie · February 15, 2015

    Looks good, John!
    Do you plan on recording errors while you are checking students’ reading fluency? Then you can include reading strategies to help students in specific areas of need while giving feedback. Maybe using something like Running Records could help.

    Like

  4. jnyboy1131 · February 18, 2015

    We do record the errors so the students know how to say the word. It is also helpfull so they can see what it looks and sounds like when they read. We only use running records twice a year, I would like to do it weekly, but there is no time. When we do leveled reading I keep track of what the errors are and we go over it as a group. For the most part my kids are leveled pretty well, and they all seem to miss the same words. I read beforehand and do a vocal check on what I know they will miss. Thanks for the input!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

