How will data collection ‘look’ for me? What challenges am I anticipating?

I will be using The Six-Minute Solution, and the reading probes from Read Naturally, Levels 1.0 – 2.5. The students will graph daily results on The Six-Minute Solution graph sheet. Along with the graphing sheet, students will journal how they feel about their reading, and the score they received. The R-CBM and MAZE Passages will be chosen at random from a selection of twenty-five each and administered each Friday between 11:00 AM and 11:30 AM.   There will be a pre and post research survey for the students to provide feedback on the process.

In this test, I want to examine possible benefits of repeated readings and a single reading on an AIMSweb test. If we work daily on fluency, and comprehension at the end of the week, I believe the students will be able to translate that skill into process for everyday reading. The students will be given a baseline R-CBM and MAZE test at the beginning of the study. Everyday the students will read from the Read Naturally probes, on Friday the students will be given a R-CBM and MAZE fluency test. The results will be graphed weekly and compared to previous weeks and the baseline. Daily when the students read, after the reading is graphed, they will journal how they feel about their reading and the score they cut. This will allow them to see their improvement, loss or flat reading each day.

The only challenges I see are the kids that have a hard time making it to school.  When they do not come, they don’t get the practice and sometimes testing can be off set.  Other than that, I see it going pretty smooth.

11 comments

  1. Stephanie · February 22, 2015

    How do you plan to administer the pre- and post- surveys? Written? What will the surveys look like? I envision primary aged students filling out a survey, and wonder what type of questions you will ask, considering their literacy levels.

    Like

  2. jnyboy1131 · February 22, 2015

    The pre survey will be basic, questions about their reeding, how they feel about it, what they want to achieve. I will do a paper survey, I thought about using the clickers from the white board, but there is nowhere to leave a reply, only choose an answer. The questions will have to be very basic, nothing too wordy. The post is more detailed because it involves not only reading but questions about the fluency program.

    Like

  3. kmlovett · February 22, 2015

    I too get frustrated when students aren’t in school. My district is starting to transition our performance evaluations towards a more student growth model. Students who miss a certain percentage have their scores dropped. You might consider not including students if they miss a significant portion of the instruction or evaluation piece.

    Like

    • jnyboy1131 · February 23, 2015

      Thanks for the input, I will check attendance before I choose my participants.

      Like

  4. ashlemaster · February 22, 2015

    I think you have a solid base for your project. In order to avoid the attendance issue you could always focus your project on a few students you know are always there instead of your whole class. Or you could do like Kari said and not include students have miss a large portion of class. Either way, I see your project going very smoothly! Well done!

    Like

    • jnyboy1131 · February 23, 2015

      Thanks Ashley. I didn’t even think to go back and look at the attendance. I could lower my sample size to the worst 5 readers. This is something I really need to look at and evaluate.

      Liked by 1 person

      • ashlemaster · February 23, 2015

        I wonder if you will find a connection between your low readers and attendance. I find that the students who need the most help are always the ones that miss school the most.

        Like

      • jnyboy1131 · February 23, 2015

        I do know that all my low readers have been retained at least once. I also know that half of them do not live with either parent but that is not unusual here.

        Like

      • ashlemaster · February 23, 2015

        That’s sad… Unfortunately we usually find those types of issues with our low readers.

        Like

      • jnyboy1131 · February 23, 2015

        This is one of the worst reservations in Arizona.

        Like

  5. starrhenry · February 23, 2015

    I was wondering if you were planning on doing this with all of your students or not. From the comments, it looks like you might be considering adjusting who becomes part of the project based on attendance. In the past, when focusing on fluency with my kiddos, I have recorded them and played it back for them to self-assess. There are some simple fluency self-assessments available on Teachers Pay Teachers. You said you were going to have students journal, but this might be a simple way to make sure they’re reflecting on what you want them to. One I’ve used before is at this web address: https://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Product/iPad-reading-fluency-rubric-454595 Plus, it has them focus on what fluency really is. Not to add anything to your project (it really sounds great!), but just wanted to share in case.

    Like

Leave a Reply

