How do I explain my data? What did I learn from my data?

I have a lot of quantitative data that transition well into qualitative data. I am able to look at the probe scores and see that students overtime improved by the numbers, and when compared to my notes I see that the rate of errors decreased. The beginning errors were added and dropped endings and skipped words. Those errors decreased and fluent reading became the outcome. Using the Six-Minute Solution and daily discussions on errors seemed to enable to students to check themselves, something that wasn’t the norm prior.

The student journals show me the students are aware of their reading, and conscious of their reading to improve scores. It was like a game, and once they understood the rules, they played better.

I learned that the students did perform better and also believed they performed better using the Six-Minute Solution. They became aware of their reading, and also aware of their understanding. By the third week, students were conscious of their fluency, and worked to read every word, this huge considering they were skipping or saying what they thought and not making sense of what they read. Students were concerned with the passage making sense and re-reading to make that happen. This tells me that the skills learned using the Six-Minute Solution worked when reading other passages.

11 comments

  1. ahayden2007 · March 29, 2015

    Sounds like your findings matched the research. That’s always exciting. Can’t wait to see how you work all this together in a narrative form for your paper.

    Like

  2. kmlovett · March 29, 2015

    I am impressed by the quantitative and qualitative data. Did you turn the scores into qualitative data right away or wait until the end of your study? I am always curious to see how time effects our judgement of a student’s performance.

    It was encouraging to read that your students not only improved, but seemed engaged in the activity. Do you think their engagement could be sustained over a long period of time?

    Like

    • jnyboy1131 · March 29, 2015

      I do, Knowing what I know now, I want to sit-down with administration and see if we can’t start this at first grade with the sight words. I can see how it would help.

      Like

    • jnyboy1131 · March 30, 2015

      I waited till the end, I kept notes on my notes so I could go back and turn the data. The kids were engaged and I think it could be sustained over time. I do beleive the program needs to be used from the beginning at an early age.

      Like

  3. burns12 · March 29, 2015

    I have the same situation going on as you do, some good quantitative data that will transition well into qualitative data. Sounds like 6-minute solutions really worked well for you, very impressive! One of the greatest things a teacher can do is to have students become aware of what they are doing while they are doing it, and it seems like you were able to do that. Great work!

    Like

    • jnyboy1131 · March 29, 2015

      Awesome! At first I didn’t think it was going to transition, but it did quite well.

      Like

  4. ashlemaster · March 29, 2015

    I wish I would have better understood how to collect data prior to this project. I didn’t fully understand how you could turn quantitative data into qualitative data, but after looking at your data it makes sense. Great job! Glad you saw improvement!

    Like

    • jnyboy1131 · March 30, 2015

      I was in the same boat at first, I had all these ideas and then had no idea what to do, and slowly it all came together.

      Like

  5. thestudysoldotna · March 29, 2015

    Love your analogy of: once they learned the rules they could play the game better!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jnyboy1131 · March 29, 2015

      Its so true, at first it was a race, no structure, then we started talking about it and they realized it was more than quantity, it was quality.

      Liked by 2 people

      • thestudysoldotna · March 29, 2015

        I am learning so much at the ripe ole age of 47!! Love it!

        Like

Leave a Reply

