How can others apply what I learned to their classrooms? What needs to be considered now? What will I do next?

For me to apply the Six-Minute Solution to the classroom, I need to use it from the beginning. I need to know the instructional level of reading of the students and they need to have a solid understanding of how to read fluently and understand what they read.

To consider using this program, students need to know words, and how they work with other words. The Six-Minute Solution can help with words, but it doesn’t help with how they work together. If students don’t know how to read, the beginning is only good to teach sight words.

I want to expose the system to the second grade. I want them to start using it from the beginning of the year, start at the word lists, and over time find the instructional level of the student. Then compare the information to the F&P tests we have to do to see if it is relatively the same. If it is, then the reading sheets will be more beneficial for fluency over time. Fluency should increase and understanding should increase as well.

I truly believe in this system improving R-CBM and MAZE scores. But as I said, it has to be used from the beginning. I am going to share the benefits of the program with the second grade teachers. If nothing else, the students will master sight words, which is important to reading fluency as well. I am implementing this program next year as well as the rest of the third grade classes. I believe that by using the program from the beginning we can improve reading fluency, comprehension, and test scores by 10 points.

3 comments

  1. kmlovett · April 12, 2015

    Wow! It sounds like this project will be very beneficial to your students next year. I agree that programs are often best when implemented over a long period of time and am excited to hear if your students’ test scores improve. I wonder will this program reach a plateau of improvement? (That is to say the student gains drop off over a certain period of time.)

    Like

  2. ahayden2007 · April 12, 2015

    Your second paragraph makes me think about my own recommendation and the limitations when an intervention is not initiated or used properly. Thanks for your insight that triggered an addition I can make to my own paper.

    Like

  3. hmdavis2013 · April 13, 2015

    This sounds like you have learned things that will help in ythe future. Using it from the beginning next year will make a difference. It is much easier to see results in something like this when used over a longer period of time. I say this about curriculum changes. When the school changes curriculum materials open during a students educational process, it is hard to tell if it is effective. For instance’ when they started using Saxon math, a lot of the upper grade (4-6) teachers were struggling with their students not knowing things that Saxon assumed they knew. However, the younger grades had great success with it. If they allow the program to continue, those who started it in kindergarten or first grade will have a different experience in 5th or 6th grade than those who started with Saxon math in 5th or 6th grade.

    Like

Leave a Reply

