Week 12

11 comments

  1. Tristan Leiter · August 5, 2015

    I personally think that kids knowing how to blog is one of the best skills they can have especially if they are going to go onto college. When I got to college, I had no idea what a blog was and I hated the fact that other people were reading what I was thinking and researching. I felt like compared to everyone else’s responses to questions, mine were wrong, I think it was a level of just feeling uncomfortable with the whole idea. I think that kids need to start young realizing that we all have different opinions and can share them freely and how to respond to others whose feelings are different from ours in a non judgmental way without a condescending nature. I enjoyed your proposal, good luck with teaching the kids about blogging this year and for your future proposal of getting 1-to-1 for your students!

    Like

  2. jnyboy1131 · August 6, 2015

    Thank you so much!! I am in the same boat as you, I never seen a blog until last semester, and I was so afraid that everything I said was wrong. I still feel like that sometimes, but being with this group of students everyone is so supportive and it makes the writing personal. I want my kids to feel that, to feel the accomplishment of writing for an audience, and having people not judge you, but reinforce you in your endeavorers.

    Like

  3. wollert7790 · August 6, 2015

    Congratulations John! I know you’ve been frustrated with all that has been happening at your school. It came through a little bit but the overwhelming positivity about the adoption well surpassed anything negative. It’s great that you can tie together how this is going to help the students with a particular standard and so many more in a future year.
    One question, you mention that your class has one opportunity a week to go to the computer lab. What is stopping you from signing up for another time slot?

    Like

    • jnyboy1131 · August 8, 2015

      There is no other slots. We only have one computer lab that works. We have 5-1st grades, 5-2nd grades, 4-third grades, 4-4th grades, 4-5th grades. We rotate through the lab Monday through Thursday, Friday is a half day, no extras. Every class gets a chance to go once a week, except kindergarten. That is our options, thats why I want computers for our kids, then K-2 can have the lab more than once a week.

      Like

  4. racheldehaan · August 7, 2015

    Great idea, especially when your district is telling you that there is no money! I really think blogging is an important skill to teach students. Teachers are able to use blogging for all different subjects as well as in different aspects of the curriculum. I have recently started looking into using blogging with my reading class and trying to figure out what it will exactly look like in my classroom. Thanks for all the insight in your video and trying to get this great aspect of technology going at your school!

    Like

    • jnyboy1131 · August 8, 2015

      Thank you me too! It is authentic writing, and they can benefit from others reading their work besides me. They need to see that people care, and want to read what they think. I think you will like using blogging in your class, it gives you a chance to step back and really see what is going on.

      Like

  5. janeblasingame · August 8, 2015

    Great idea and free. I can tell you have put in a great deal of time researching your ideas. Good luck. I hope you get your 1 to 1 computer.

    Like

    • jnyboy1131 · August 8, 2015

      Thanks!! I hope so too. My kids really do need a chance to get to the twentieth century let alone the twenty-first.

      Like

  6. becca1ak · August 11, 2015

    Blogging is on my bucket list in my classroom this year as well. My partner teacher has used it previously, so I’m excited for her to guide me along. Thinking…that is what today’s children struggle with. Expressing ideas, developing, responding and analyzing others’ ideas is not something they experience until like Tristan said, they get to college and are expected to do it. Free and a teacher ready to make it happen…very excited for you!!

    Like

  7. becca1ak · August 11, 2015

    http://kidblog.org/home/
    Done!! My new classroom blog is all set up, loaded onto class webpage links and ready for students in three weeks!! WHOOT-WHOOT!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. janeblasingame · August 11, 2015

    Becca is this something the district subscribes to?

    Like

Leave a Reply

